Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

SVEC Announces Writing Contest Winners

Posted on Thursday, May 5, 2016 at 10:10 am

Sequachee Valley Electric Cooperative recently announced the winners of the annual Washington Youth Tour Writing Contest. The first place winner in each of the seven public high schools in the SVEC service area will receive an expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., June 10-16. The runners-up will each receive a $50 cash award.

Two of the principles which all cooperatives follow are: “Commitment to Community” and “Education, Training and Information” for the members of cooperative. SVEC supports this program in order to educate our future members about the “cooperative difference,” and the important role that cooperatives take in our rural communities, to prepare our youth for the responsibilities of adulthood and to prepare a pool of future leaders ready to take the reins.

SVEC tourSequachee Valley Electric Cooperative sponsors the Washington Youth Tour, but they cannot do it alone; it takes a concerted effort between the principals who allow them to conduct the contest in their schools, the teachers who make time in their busy schedules for the presentations and for grading and selecting the finalists, the parents who encourage their children to participate, and the volunteer judges who take time to read and score the finalists’ papers all have an integral part in making this “trip of a lifetime” happen annually for local students.

Contest winners

Bledsoe County High School: Rhianna Barrow, first place; Abby Self, second place; and Hanna Heston, third place.

Grundy County High School: Karissa Northcutt, first place; Maddie Nunley, second place; and Alexa Fults, third place.

Marion County High School: Sarah Rheal, first place; Seth Drey, second place, and Rachael McNabb, third place.

Richard Hardy Memorial School: Scarlett Tate, first place; Mariah Dawn Sims, second place; and Madison Huckabee, third place.

Sequatchie County High School: Kaitlyn Springer, first place; Alya Sharboug, second place; and Madilyn Weas, third place.

South Pittsburg High School: Austin Abbott, first place; Makayla Mathews, second place; and Emma O’Hailey, third place.

Whitwell High School: Emily Campbell, first place; Catherine Baker, second place; and Sadie Logan, third place.

SVEC’s Cathy Black will accompany the group.