Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

Nolan To Receive Award

Posted on Friday, October 24, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Lecil Nolan_0002Sgt. Lecil Nolan, a U.S. Army veteran of the Vietnam War, is the 2014 recipient of the twenty-ninth annual Palmer Veteran’s Appreciation Award, presented each November by Palmer Town Historian David Patton and sponsored by Citizen’s Tri-County Bank.

After basic training at Fort Campbell, KY, during the summer of 1970, Nolan served as an infantryman with the 101st Airborne Division in Vietnam from January to December 1971. When you are on the other side of the world, what a treat to see someone from home like Ronald Coffelt who was in the same unit, although a different company.

Among his military decoration are the coveted Combat Infantryman Badge, National Defense Service Medal, Vietnam Service Medal with two Bronze Service Stars, Republic of Vietnam Service Medal, Air Medal with Numeral 1, Bronze Star, Marksman (rifle), and 1st Class Gunner (MGM – 60).

Nolan, a son of the late Claude and Ruby Haynes Nolan, is a 1969 graduate of Grundy County High School. He and his wife, the former Martha Carol Creighton, are the parents of Christel Shrum, Kevin Nolan, and the late Jeremy Nolan. He is retired from the U.S. Postal Service after 29 years and 10 months. Many remember him from his years at the Tracy City Post Office.

Malcolm P. Rankin, a highly decorated World War I soldier and the first reciepient of this award, was followed in order by Obid Marion “Soap” McNabb, Rufus Kilgore, Jr., Glenn A. Nunley, Robert W. Levan, William “Wet Duck” Dishroon, Alfred “Buddy” Nolan, Earl F. Crieghton, Charles E. “Gene” Brooks, Bedford R. Glisson, Herschel L. Finch, Jr., James Lowrie, “Jim” King, J.C. “Tom” Scissom, Carl E. “Teeter” Morrison, John W. “Bill” Partin, Thomas M. Burnette, James Shrum, Jr., Billy Carl Guffey, William J. “Jack” Partin, Daniel “Dan” Coffelt, Larry G. Henry, Bobby Lynn Stinnett, Dennis A. Sweeton, Seann E. Lewis, Charles Edgar Sanders, Justin Smith, Steve A. Garner, and Matthew Hampton.