Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

Local Election Brings New Faces To County Government

Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2014 at 8:49 am

Clint Shrum Melody Oliver Tyler McCullough michael bradyIn Grundy County, 3,918 voters cast their ballots in the election on August 7. The unofficial election results below include early and absentee votes.
Grundy County Mayor:
Michael Brady received 2,087 votes; Aubrey Harper received 1,621 votes.
Grundy County Sheriff:
Clint Shrum received 1,993 votes; Russell Baker received 1,744 votes.
Running unopposed, Grundy County Register of Deeds Gayle VanHooser received 3,153 complimentary votes.
Grundy County Circuit Court Clerk:
Melody Knight Oliver received 2,277 votes; Tosha Barrett received 1,276 votes.
Grundy County Clerk:
Running unopposed, Tammy Sholey received 2,912 votes.
Grundy County Road Superintendent:
Incumbent Dewayne Turkey Hargis received 1,689 votes; Johnny Ray Fults received 1,665 write-in votes.
Grundy County Trustee:
Tyler McCullough received 2,350 votes; write-in candidates recieved 990 votes.
Running unopposed, General Sessions Judge William R. (Trey) Anderson, III, received 2,816 complimentary votes.
District 1 Constable:
Chris Boyd received 679 votes; Larry Nunley received 340 votes.
Running unopposed, District 2 Constable Phillip (Rabbit) Stephens received 982 complimentary votes.
Also running unopposed District 3 Constable Timothy Ray King received 777 complimentary votes.
Grundy County Commissioner District 1:
Danny Lusk received 580 votes; David Lockhart received 484 votes; Mike Cordell received 475 votes; Wayne Harris received 444 votes; Greg Burnett received 390 votes; Chuck Clabbers received 338 votes; and Scotty Hoosier received 242 votes.
Grundy County Commissioner District 2:
Gary Brewer received 934 votes; Dennis Jones received 840 votes; and Daniel Crabtree received 926 votes.
Grundy County Commissioner District 3:
Jaoh Hargis II received 750 votes; William Griswold received 689 votes; and Charles Rollins received 671 votes.
School Board District 1:
Paul Gallagher received 458 votes; Kasey Anderson received 412 votes; Tressie Jo Kennedy received 278 votes; Kay Layne received 346 votes; Russell Mainord received 204 votes; and Mason Nunley received 363 votes.
School Board District 2:
Janie Layne received 511 votes; Rick Rust received 372 votes; and Charles Sanders received 275 votes.
School Board District 3:
Gary Don Melton received 775 votes.
Mayor Gruetli Laager:
Kelly Gibbs received 365 votes; Phillip Stevens received 194 votes.
Alderman Gruetli-Laager:
Dwain Brewer received 113 votes; Allen Joslyn III received 309 votes; Donna Rollins received 235 votes; and Cody Wise received 234 votes.