Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

County-Wide Attendance Blitz

Posted on Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 1:31 pm

























The Grundy County Board of Education’s Attendance Department focused on encouraging attendance and rewarding good attendance this past school year. During the spring semester, Valerie Sitz, the county’s Attendance Supervisor lead the “Must Be Present To Win,” event, encouraging Grundy County students to come to school and rewarding those who did.

In May, Sitz and her department raffled way drones at each Grundy County school. Students who had zero absences, tardies, or early checkouts in a school week earned one ticket, while a month with perfect attendance gave students ten tickets. Tickets were used to generate the winners of the drones.
The drone winners were Grundy County High School, Madi Garrison; North Elementary School, Jasmine Green; Swiss Memorial Elementary School, Macie Anderson; Tracy City Elementary School, Annabella Doino; Coalmont Elementary School, Damon Shrum; Pelham Elementary School, Hunter O’Neal; and Palmer Elementary School, Paul Wise.
Sitz would like to thank Sequatchie Valley Electric Cooperation and Citizens Tri-County Bank for donating the funds used to purchase drones.
With a donation from the Grundy County Federal Programming Department, the Attendance Department was also able to raffle off a brand new ChromeBook to Grundy County Students with perfect attendance. The ChromeBook was won by North Student Jamie Larrazolo.
Sitz and her department would also like to recognize each student who earned perfect attendance this school year.
“Perfect attendance is an accomplishment that speaks to a student’s dedication to their personal growth and their care and value of school and education. This extends to family members as well, as often times it’s the encouragement and support of family members that allow for their students to earn perfect attendance,” Sitz stated at one of the attendance rallies.
Perfect attendance
NES : Jasmine Green (Drone winner), Zoey Anderson, Kenzie Burnett, Kymberleigh Burnett, Michael Burnett, Jamie Larrazolo, Bryan Larrazolo, Reyna Larrazolo, Selina Larrazolo, Kelsey Nunley, Stokes Partin, Camden Ronken, Savanna Scruggs, and Lloyd Smartt.
GCHS: Madi Garrison (Drone winner), William Arce, Zachary Campbell, Devon Conley, Christian Easterly, Liliann King, Joseph Miller, Leandra Morrison, Emily Rhea, Luke Sweeney, Destiney Totherow , Jimmy West, Shalyn Pickett, Stuart Guyear, Allen Doss, and Whitney Richardson.
SMES: Macie Anderson (Drone winner), Adam Borne, Alissa McBee, and Kimberly Stewart.
TCES: Annabella Doino (Drone winner) and Bella Layne.
CES: Damon Shrum (Drone winner).
PEL: Hunter O’Neal (Drone winner), Kenzie O’Neal, and Chloe Wegner.
PAL: Paul Wise (Drone winner), Jaylee Shadrick, Gunner Caldwell, Abby Parker, Jaxon Nunley, Garrick Easterly, Peyton Choate, Bailey Totherow, Gunner Meeks, and Paul Allen Wise.