Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

Class of 2017 Scholarships and Awards

Posted on Friday, May 19, 2017 at 10:39 am

The following scholarships and awards were presented to Grundy county High School seniors.

Southern Tennessee Ladies Society Scholarship Foundation: Hunter Ladd, $3,500.

Grundy County Sheriff’s Criminal Justice Assistance Scholarship: Kenneth Jacob


Middle TN. Association of Realtors: Alexa Fults, $1,000.

Grundy County Trustee Key to Success Scholarship: Jake Fincher, $500; Destiny Stubblefield, $500; Hunter Ladd, $6,000.

Tower Bank Financial Literacy Scholarship: Jasmine Fults, $500.

Mary Phillips Kirby Smith Scholarship: Emily Green, $1,000; Hunter Ladd, $1,000; and Kristen Bean, $1,000.

Huff & Puff Trucking: Misty Parks, $500; Hunter Layne, $500; Gregory Knost, $500; and Natalie Jones, $500.

Citizens Tri County Bank: Skylar Shrum, $500.

John and Thelma Dickerson Scholarship: Shanda Thomas, $150.

ECMC College Night Scholarship: Taylen Scissom, $500.

Grundy County Rotary Scholarship: Jasmine Fults.

Monteagle –Sewanee Rotary Club: Emily Green.

American Red Cross Scholarship: Jasmine Fults, $500.

ARC and Health Science Career Scholarship: Lauren Cantu, $400; and Jacob Partin, $250.

Cook’s cues Ambition Award: Samantha Fults.

Hagan Scholarship: Emily Green, up to $10,000 per year for four years.

Monteagle Sunday School Assembly (renewable scholarships): Brenti Myers, $500; Emilee Meeks, $500; David Oliver, $500; and Brooklyn Morris, $500.

Crais Family Foundation: Kristen Bean, $500; Karissa Northcutt, $500; Makayla Misiolek, $500; and Autumn Parmley, $500.

Pearl and Jesse Savage Scholarship: Courtney Johnson, $2,500; and Elizabeth Simmons, $1,500.

Grundy County Fair Association scholarship” Makenzi Melton.

Margaret Shook Foster Scholarship: Austin Geier.

Coach Pickett Scholarship: Hunter Ladd and Emilee Meeks.

Grundy Proud-College Bound Awards: Aliva Fann, $400; Chloe Scissom, $400; Elizabeth Simmons, $400; and Jathan Campbell, $400.

Buford Newsome Memorial Scholarship: Brooke Foshee and Jasmine Fults.

Quentin Orion Rorer Awareness Scholarship: Dakota Schild and Zach Layne.

Pelham Elementary: Haley Burt.

Palmer Elementary: Raven Tate, $100; Chloe Scissom, $100; and tyler Nolan, $100.

Coalmont Elementary School: Alora Nunley.

Swiss Elementary School: Marcy McDaniel.

North Elementary School: Rebekah Barrett.

Tracy City Elementary School School: Misty Parks.

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga MOCs Scholarship: Hunter Ladd, $8,000; Alivia Fann, $8,000; and Lauren Cantu, $8,000.

Middle Tennessee State University True Blue Scholarship: Elizabeth Scissom, $12,000.

Chattanooga State Community College Scholarship: Brenti Myers, Lauren Cantu, Makayla Gill, and Raven Tate.

Motlow State Community College Scholarships: Rebekah Barrett, Shanda Thomas, Haley Burt, Clarissa Meeks, and Karissa Northcutt.

University of the South Scholarship (renewable): Emily Green, $19,500.

University of the South Fairbanks Award: Emily Green, $13,500.

University of the South Belk Scholarship and Fairbanks Award: David Oliver, $20,000.

University of the South Swimming Scholarship: Alexa Fults, $44,500.

Tennessee Technological University Scholarship: Courtney Johnson.

Volunteer State Basketball Scholarship: Kelsey Harriman. Belmont University Academic Scholarship: Chloe Scissom.

President’s Education Award (senior with highest ACT score): Alivia Fann.

United States Marine Corps Scholastic excellence Award: Hunter Ladd and Mikayla Misiolek.

United States Marine corps distinguished Athlete Award: Trent Hampton and Emilee Meeks.

The Simper fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Samuel Morgan.

United States Army National Scholar Athlete Award: Alexa Fults and Trent Hampton.

Tennessee Scholars: Rebekah Barrett, Alexa Fults, Courtney Johnson, Hunter Ladd, Karissa Northcutt, and David Oliver.

Perfect Attendance (high school): Hunter Ladd, Hannah Hornbuckle, and Tyler Nolan.

GCHS Bootstrap Award: Dwight Byers.

GCHS English Award: Autumn Parmley.

GCHS Math Award: Kenneth Nunley.

GCHS Spanish Award: Courtney Johnson.