Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

Celebrate Grundy’s 175th Birthday

Posted on Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 10:44 am

Grundy County Mayor Michael Brady has announced a celebration of Grundy County marking the county’s 175th birthday, on January 29, at the Grundy County Heritage Center in Tracy City, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
“Join us in celebrating Grundy County’s 175th Birthday! This event is sponsored by Grundy County Heritage Center and Grundy County officials,” said Mayor Brady. “We hope that you will enjoy browsing the historical displays with fellow Grundy County citizens and sampling food from local eateries.”
The proclamation creating Grundy County, January 29, 1844:
“BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that a new county be, and the same is hereby established, by taking a part of the counties of Warren and Coffee, to be known and designated by the name of Grundy, in honor of the Honorable Felix Grundy, deceased. Passed on January 29, 1844.” It was months later before the governing body of Grundy could make the first notation in the minute book from the first commission meeting and it reads: “Be it remembered that at a county court begun and held for the county of Grundy at Beersheba Springs the place designated by law for holding the first courts of said county of Grundy, on the first Monday being the fifth day of August A.D. One thousand eight hundred and forty-four and sixty ninth year of the Independence of the United States. Present the worshipful Adrien Northcutt and William Dugan, resident of that part of Grundy County taken from the county of Warren, and the worshipful John Burrows and Alfred Braley resident of that part of Grundy County taken from the county of Coffee, in pursuance of an act of the General Assembly of the State of Tennessee held at Nashville on the twenty ninth day of January one thousand eight hundred and forty-four, and proceeded to organize the county court. Whereupon, Adrien Northcutt, John Fults, William Dugan, Ambrose Killian, Robert Tate, Isaac Campbell, Stephen M. Griswold, James Lockhart, John Burrows, Thomas Warren and Daniel Saine esquires, produced their commissions in open court, under the great seal of the State and took the several oaths prescribed by law for Justices of the Peace and war thereupon admitted to exercise the functions of their office. Proclamation being made the court then proceeded in discharge of public business.”