Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Test Pushdown

Ag. Business Recognizes Farmers, Conservationist, Youth

Posted on Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 11:21 am

The Grundy County Agriculture (Ag.) Business Council recently recognized the hard working men, women, and young people of Grundy County in their dedication to agriculture, families, and conservation of natural resources and the environment of Grundy County. Awards were given during the Grundy County Ag. Business Council Awards Banquet at the Coalmont Community Center on March 4.
This year’s recipients are as follows: Travis Hill, Conservation Farmer of the Year; JR Clay, Young Farmer of the Year; Ralph Pickett, Horticulture Farmer of the Year; Evan Turner, 4-H Member of the Year; Alison Nunley, FFA Member of the Year; Chris Jennings, Trades and Industry Student of the Year; and A.J. Gulley, Conservation Educator of the Year.
Each recipient was recognized for their outstanding dedication to agriculture and farm families of Grundy County and received a recognition plaque or a personalized field jacket. More than sixty (60) family members, friends, farmers, and Ag. Business Council members were on-hand to help recognize each of the recipients. Dr. Robert Burns, UT Dean of Extension, also attended and brought words of inspiration and closing remarks to the group.
The awards program was sponsored by the Grundy County Soil Conservation District, the Grundy County Commission, Grundy County Ag. Business Council, Grundy County Farm Bureau, High Meadows Farm, Quail Forever, and UT/TSU Extension.
The Grundy Agriculture Business Council is composed of local farmers, landowners, county officials, and leaders of county, state, and federal agriculture organizations and services. Monthly meetings are held at the UT/TSU Extension office in Coalmont on the second Monday of each month and anyone with an interest in agriculture is invited to attend.
Once again, congratulations to all of the recipients of this year’s Ag. Business Council Awards. We look forward to planning the program next year.
From left to right front row: JR Clay, Alison Nunley.
From left to right back row: AJ Gulley, Chris Jennings, Travis Hill, Ralph Pickett, Evan Turner.