Grundy County Herald

Follow Us On:

Grundy Golf Opens Season

Posted on Thursday, August 3, 2017 at 12:38 pm

The Grundy County High School golf team opened the 2017 season last Monday, with play against Coffee County, at Willowbrook Golf Club. The Red Raiders proved to be too strong for the young jackets, taking the match 309-424. Medalist honors went to Coffee County’s Austin Farris with an impressive 2-under 70. Leading the way for the Jackets was Grant Dees at 103. Next up for the squad is Marion/South Pittsburgh on August 10, at Sewanee.
Individual scores were as follows: Coffee County 309 – Austin Farris, 70; Sam Prater, 78; Josh Perry. 80; Reid Lawrence, 82; Grundy County – 424; Grant Dees, 103; AJ Tenenbaum, 106; Kollyn Cooper, 107; Emily Smith, 108; Trey Hampton, 112.
Golf schedule
Thursday, August 10, at Sewanee (GCHS v MCHS, SPHS); Tuesday, August 15, at Sewanee (GCHS v CCHS); Tuesday, August 22, at Sewanee (GCHS v SCHS); Thursday, August 24, at Sewanee (GCHS v BCHS); Monday, August 28, at Fall Creek Falls (GCHS v BCHS, SAS); Tuesday, August 29, at Sweeten’s Cove (GCHS v MCHS, SPHS) Tuesday, September 5, at Sewanee (GCHS versus HHS, SAS); Thursday, September 7, at Bear Trace-Tim’s Ford (GCHS v FCHS, CCHS). All tee times are at 4 p.m. The District 7A-AA Tournament is Monday, September 11, at Brainerd Golf Course in Chattanooga with tee time at 8 a.m. and Region 4A-AA Tournament is Thursday, September 14, at Chattanooga Valley Golf Course in Cleveland with tee time at 8 a.m.