GCHS Class Of 1949 And 1999

With the Grundy County High School graduation of the Class of 2013 approaching, former graduates wanted to share their graduation day.

The GCHS Class of 1949 began on May 5, with an invocation by Rev. R.M. Johnson followed by a salutatory by Nellie Pickett. The song “America, the Beautiful” was sung by the seniors and was followed by Mary Lou Roberts reading “Beyond the Last Mile.” The valedictory by Stella Mai Lockhart was on Socialized Medicine and was followed by an address by Dr. James L. Fowle. Ray Winton performed a solo of “My Task” and Rev. J.W. Roberts awarded the American Legion Medal and John A. Anderson awarded the Werner Medal and presented the class. Superintendent E.J. Cunningham awarded the diplomas and Rev. R.M. Johnson gave the benediction. Mary Jo Elliott did the recessional and Elsie Scissom, J.C. Harris, Ruth Phillips, Billie Faye Hampton, Jim Fults, Ralph White, Thomas Curtis, and Walter Bouldin served as ushers.

Class officers included: President, Randal Hamby; Vice President, James Lovell; Secretary, Joyce Brewer; Treasurer, W.D. Marler; Reporter, Patsy Tucker; and Mrs. J. M. Colston and Miss Lacy Yarber were sponsors. Class honors included: Valedictorian, Stella Mai Lockhart; Salutatorian, Nellie Pickett; and Best All ‘Round Student was Randal Hamby.

The class roll included: Tommy Waymon Bohr, Delbert Goodman, Randal Hamby, Glenn Lautzenheiser, James Lovell, Wade Daniel Marler, Wayne Mayes, Kenneth Reaves, John Allen Suter, Bernice Tate, Hoover Trussell, Ray Winton, W.P. Woodlee, Katherine Aylor, Anna Joyce Brewer, Doris Geneva Brown, Joyce Alvina Brown, Joyce Brown, Dorothy Jean Conry, Mary Carolyn Conry, Juanita Dove, Juanita Dyer, Tommye Mae Gallagher, Betty Marie Holder, Patricia Ruth Jones, Ophelia Lawson, Stella Mai Lockhart, Lorena Ruth McGregor, Emma Jean Parks, Agnes Pauline Parson, Crystobel Patterson, Nellie Pickett, Mary Lou Roberts, Jo Ann Ross, Hazel Grace Sanders, Edna Schoenmann, Mary Lou Smith, Julia Elizabeth Thomas, Patsy Geary Tucker, and Doris Jean Wooten.

Fifty years later the Grundy County High School Class of 1999 held graduation exercises on May 25. The GCHS Band performed the processional with an invocation by Mike Ray. Mandy Gallagher did the salutatory and Jessie Melton did the valedictory. Karen Meeks and Bennett Boynton presented the awards and Joel Hargis presented the class. Joe Nunley awarded the diplomas and the senior choir performed the Alma Mater, “Remember Me This Way.”

William Childers did the benediction and the GCHS Band performed the recessional. Class officers included: President, Stephanie Campbell; Vice President, Jessie Melton; Secretary, Candice Elizalda Mott; Treasurer, Tracy Street; and Reporter was Justin Lusk. Class sponsors included: Trey Anderson, Wanda Bell, Greg Brewer, Daryl Brown, John Campbell, Paul Conry, Barbara Cooke, Jim Delozier, Brian Masters, Christy Morrison, Brenda O’Dear, Melody Patterson, Pam Pickett, and Steven Roberts.

Class honors included: Valedictorian, Jessie Melton; Salutatorian, Mandy Gallagher, Best All-Around Boy, Joe Brown; Best All-Around Girl, Jessie Melton; Sportsmanship Boy, Joe Brown; Sportsmanship Girl, Teri Winton; Outstanding Special Education Senior, Stephanie Meeks; Outstanding Senior Scholar Athlete, Kelly Shrum; Outstanding Vocational Education Seniors were Dusty Jones and Nateka Anderson; and Outstanding General Education Senior, Amanda Campbell.

The Top 10% of the Class included: Jessie Melton, Mandy Gallagher, Ivan Carrick, Kimberly Hamby, Tonia Burroughs, Barry Brown, Joe Brown, Kristi Smartt, Johnathan Grimes, Misty Swaney, Kelly Shrum, Christin Cannon, Stephanie Campbell, David Shrum, and Brandy Chambers.

The class roll included: Brandon Edward Anderson, Brooke Nicole Anderson, Nateka Natacha Anderson, Suzanne Darline Asher, Ashli Ann Barrett, David Wesley Barrett, Sarena Faye Bennett, Kurt Lewis Brewer, Barry Keith Brown, Brandy Nicole Brown, Joseph Allen Brown, Pamela Ann Brown, Christopher Dewayne Burnette, Tonia Gale Burroughs, Adam Corvelle Campbell, Amanda Shavonne Campbell, Clysta Charlene Campbell, Julie Ann Campbell, Stephanie Jill Campbell, Christin Danielle Cannon, Gabriela Carreto, Christopher Ivan Carrick, Tonya Manley Cash, Brandy Lee Chambers, Kristina Ann Childers, Russell Dwane Christian, Charles Monroe (Trey) Cook, Brian Coppinger, Michael Leland Cowan, Jr., John E. Shawn Cox, Daniel Troy Crabtree, Laura Mae Bethany Creighton, Andrea Lynn Cunningham, Lillie Elise Cunningham, Tony Lee Cunningham, Brandie Raye Curtis, Toni Juanita Davis, Sarah Rose Dishroon, Brandy Lynn Dykes, William Harris Fitch, Lannie Cameron Foshee, Loretta Dawn Fosheee, Mary Wanda Frederick, Bandy Anna Gallagher, Mandy Aubrey Gallagher, David Michael Geary, Noah Austin Gilliam, Tawny Gipson, Amber Deanna Green, Charles Edward Grimes, Johnathan Wayne Grimes, Jacqueline Mae Guyear, Kimberly Kristin Hamby, James Michael Hargis, Jared Wayne Hargis, Michael Dale Harriman, Tonya Sue Head, Bonnie Lynn Hoback, Joshua Derek Hobbs, Valarie Charlie Hobbs, Andrea Michelle Hoosier, Crystal Elaine James, Jeremy Michael James, Dusty Lavon Jones, Kristen Faith Jones, Wesley Alex Kilgore, Amanda Estelle Killian, Kellie King, Nancy Rose King, Shandra Danielle King, Charity William (C.W.) Kirkland, Timberly Nichelle Knight, Tonya Ruth Knight, Jessica Faith Ladd, Rodney Daryl Layman, Brenda Lee Layne, Gracie Arvella Layne, Kawana Dawn Layne, Kristin DeEtta Layne, Justin Will Lusk, Heather Nicole Lynch, Elvis Duayne McDaniel, Michael Howell McDaniel, Shelia McDaniel, Gina Louisa McDowell, Angela Michelle Meeks, Chad Trey Meeks, Jennifer Denise Meeks, Jonathan Anthony Meeks, Michael Meeks II, Miranda Lea Meeks, Stephanie Kay Meeks, Jessie Elizabeth Melton, Candice Ophelia Elizalda Mott, Kristy Michelle Myers, Nathan Daniel Myers, Sherry Nolan, David Aaron Northcutt, Angela Faith Nunley, Dustin Nunley, Klent Adomis Nunley, Dennis Franklin Oliver, Kenneth Wayne O’Neal, Jonathan Michael Orange, Amanda Owenby, Isaac F. Parson, Ada Kay Parsons, Cleveland Alexander Porter, Donna Rae Presley, Jimmy Dwayne Richardson, Brandy Lashell Rogers, Jeremy David Rose, Jess Douglas Ruehling, David Nathaniel Ryder, Ryan Joseph Sanders, Selena Shonta Sanders, Crystal Lynn Scott, Audrey Rose Bennett Shrum, David Lee Shrum, Holly LeeAnn Shrum, Kelly Marie Shrum, Marvin Shrum, Jr., Carol L. Singleton, Joanna Lee Sitz, Kristi Dawn Smartt, LaShawnda Stoglin Smith, Mary Beth Smith, Tara Rae Smith, Teresa Lynn Smith, Angelyn Chynette Stockwell, Tracy Leigh Street, Misty Michelle Swaney, Jacqueline Brandy Sweeton, Jason Craig Sweeton, Carrie Amanda Clarice Tate, Kevin Wesley Tate, Benton David Thomas, Jenny Margaret Thomas, Brandon Kelly Tipton, Tara Deanna VanHooser, Andrea Michelle Vinsant, Teri Frances Winton, Sherry Lynn Wise, Melvin Anthony Woodlee, Jr., and Danny LeBron Yokley.


Posted on Tuesday, April 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm