Ag. Business Recognizes Farmers, Conservationist, And Youth

Posted on Tuesday, March 19, 2013 at 3:38 pm

The Grundy County Agriculture (Ag.) Business Council recognized the hard-working men, women, and young people of Grundy County in their dedication to agriculture, families, and conservation of natural resources and the environment of Grundy County. Awards were given during the Grundy County Ag. Business Council Awards Banquet at the Coalmont Community Center on March 4 at 6:30 p.m.

This year’s recipients included:  Clay-Clay Farms, Conservation Farmers of the Year; Caleb and Amy Rae, Beginning Farmers of the Year; Billy Smartt, Horticulture Farmer of the Year; Ann Haynes, 4-H Member of the Year; Zack Gallagher, FFA Member of the Year; Kerastin Nunley, FCCLA Member of the Year; and the Grundy County Farm Bureau Women, Conservation Communicator of the Year. 

Each recipient was recognized for their outstanding dedication to agriculture and farm families of Grundy County and each received a nice recognition plaque. More than fifty 50) family members, friends, farmers, and Ag. Business Council members were on hand to help recognize each of the recipients and partake of a wonderful meal.  The awards program was sponsored by Citizens State Bank, the Grundy County Soil Conservation District, the Grundy County Commission, Grundy County Ag. Business Council, the Grundy County Farm Bureau Women, and UT Extension.

The Grundy Agriculture Business Council is composed of local farmers, landowners, county officials, and leaders of county, state, and federal agriculture organizations and services. Monthly meetings are held at the UT Extension office in Coalmont on the third Monday of each month and anyone with an interest in agriculture is invited to attend. Once again, congratulations to all of the recipients of this year’s Ag. Business Council Awards. We look forward to planning the program next year.   

 Pictured (first row l to r):  Ann Haynes, Wanda Bell, and Edwene Clay; (middle row l to r): J.R. Clay, Zachary Gallagher, Judy Walling, Limb Rae, and Amy Rae; (back row l to r): George Clay, Eddie Clay, Eric Clay, and Caleb Rae. Kerastin Nunley is not pictured.

Headlines of the Day